An Eye for An Eye – What the bible says about Revenge

Standard

Biblical instruction about not being revengeful, difficult, but a skill we must master for the Masters pleasure.

 

Romans 12:19 – Never take your own revenge, beloved, but leave room for the wrath of God, for it is written, “VENGEANCE IS MINE, I WILL REPAY,” says the Lord.

Leviticus 19:18 – ‘You shall not take vengeance, nor bear any grudge against the sons of your people, but you shall love your neighbour as yourself; I am the LORD.

Deuteronomy 32:35 – ‘Vengeance is Mine, and retribution, In due time their foot will slip; For the day of their calamity is near, And the impending things are hastening upon them.’

Proverbs 20:22 – Do not say, “I will repay evil”; Wait for the LORD, and He will save you.

Matthew 5:38-45 – “You have heard that it was said, ‘AN EYE FOR AN EYE, AND A TOOTH FOR A TOOTH.’ “But I say to you, do not resist an evil person; but whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also. “If anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, let him have your coat also.

Luke 6:27-36 – “But I say to you who hear, love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. “Whoever hits you on the cheek, offer him the other also; and whoever takes away your coat, do not withhold your shirt from him either.

Romans 12:17 – Never pay back evil for evil to anyone, Respect what is right in the sight of all men.

1 Thessalonians 5:15 – See that no one repays another with evil for evil, but always seek after that which is good for one another and for all people.

1 Peter 3:9 – not returning evil for evil or insult for insult, but giving a blessing instead; for you were called for the very purpose that you might inherit a blessing.

1 Corinthians 13:4-5 – Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered,

Latter-Day Prophesy

enemy

How often have you heard or received advice that you must “keep your friends close but your enemies closer”?  Better yet make sure you give as much as you get.  Always render “an eye for an eye”.

I have been guilty of rendering an eye for an eye.  In the past that was my silent creed at times.  I never kept my enemies close.  I would be sure to let you know that I do not like you.  If there was on-going conflict between us I would retaliate in kind immediately or seek revenge at a later time.  Especially, when it was least expected.  You see I lived by a few creeds that were conflicting.

I was thought to do good to people but I lived by this adage “revenge is a dish best served cold”.  I reveled in it at times.  My moves against an enemy would be defensive…

View original post 1,458 more words

Please leave a response about what you think about the post or how it has affected you. Thanks in advance.

