Day 101 – 2015 Trials and Tribulations of the Finances

poverty courtesy of urbanchildinstitute-org
Standard
poverty courtesy of urbanchildinstitute-org

poverty courtesy of urbanchildinstitute-org

2015 has so far been a year of trial by poverty. Since the recession hit Jamaica hard in 2009, I have been challenged in the area of my finances. Stretching a dollar is no longer possible for day to day needs, now it pap weh it bruk. Having not worked for two of those years made things even more difficult. I lost freedom of movement, my job and my own place to live. Nonetheless, I bunkered down and braced for the challenges which faced me for the next five years.

But 2015, has been the year to put all others to shame. I did a surgery at the end of 2014 which left me half a million dollars in debt and I have yet to recover. Having not worked for nearly two months put me in the red with every bill collector that I am obligated to and they all have my address. The calls come every month, but no sympathy.

Spiritually, I have never been better and I garner that I will simply have to leave it all in the hands of the Almighty; after all, I always say He doesn’t only test us to see whether we can bear, but how we bear it. My spirit is still uplifted, but the battle is in my mind. When the bill collectors call, I own a little frustration and stress. My worry is that I won’t be able to exhale or enjoy a proper meal for the next year at least. God forbid.

Its hard.

Psalm 37:25 (NLT)

Once I was young, and now I am old. Yet I have never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.

So, why do we experience trials and tribulations?

As christians, we go through trials to grow our faith. If we never go through them then how do we learn to endure?

How else do we qualify to serve with Christ?

How else do we prove that we are capable of managing His affairs here, on earth?

How else do we grow in strength and conviction?

How else do we overcome temptation at the most extreme?

Trials come to prove you.
Trials come to strengthen you.
Trials come to break you.
Trials come to change you into the best version of yourself.
Trials come to prove you to you.
Trials come to provide spiritual warfare training.
Trials come to develop godly character.
Trials come to grow your patience.

Be encouraged

1 Peter 5:10 ESV – And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

James 1:12 ESV – Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

Romans 12:12 ESV – Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

1 Corinthians 10:13 ESV – No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

John 16:33 ESV – I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

Philippians 4:6-7 ESV – Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Exodus 14:14 ESV – The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”

Proverbs 3:5-6 ESV – Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

I know God will release me from this burden in time.

As I am encouraging myself, be encouraged also.

Copyright © 2015 · All Rights Reserved · Denise N. Fyffe

One thought on “Day 101 – 2015 Trials and Tribulations of the Finances

  1. Georgia

    It’s interesting that you posted this because I’ve been going through the same deliberation and I was listening and reading these same scriptures Prov 3.5-6, 1cor 4:13, Phil 4:7-7,, Romans 8:28. Why these challenges but each is for the edification of our spirit for the building up of our character. Everything you go through is to build a better you spiritually. Don’t worry I’ve already paved the way. Amen, God is good!!

    Like

Please leave a response about what you think about the post or how it has affected you. Thanks in advance.

