Revealing the truth about Psalms 11 by Denise N. Fyffe

psalms 11 5-6
Standard

1 I trust in the lord for protection. So why do you say to me,
“Fly like a bird to the mountains for safety!
2 The wicked are stringing their bows and fitting their arrows on the bowstrings.
They shoot from the shadows at those whose hearts are right.
3 The foundations of law and order have collapsed. What can the righteous do?”
4 But the lord is in his holy Temple; the lord still rules from heaven.
He watches everyone closely, examining every person on earth.
5 The lord examines both the righteous and the wicked. He hates those who love violence.
6 He will rain down blazing coals and burning sulfur on the wicked, punishing them with scorching winds.
7 For the righteous lord loves justice. The virtuous will see his face.”
Psalms 11

This is what the Lord revealed to me:

Dream

psalms 11 7A few weeks ago, I had a dream. I only remember the latter parts. In this dream, my family and I were running through our backyard, which had many trees. From the shadows and higher ground, my adversaries/demons, the spiritual things were shooting arrows and we were running for our lives. I had to hide behind trees, but there were times when I was exposed. Though I did not feel the impact of the arrows, I knew some made contact.

We made it to the front yard. I jumped the front gate. The streets were dark and when we made it to the main road, there was a discussion about where to go. My brother separated and went his own way. My mother remained with me.

Bible Verses

This is a very significant dream that reveals a specific tactic of the devil. The bible contains numerous verses that speak to attacks using bow and arrows. As you proceed through out the scriptures, you will see that when the figurative language is used, it refers to a specific kind of attack by one’s enemy.

proverbs 25 18Proverbs 25:18 (NLT)

Telling lies about others is as harmful as hitting them with an ax, wounding them with a sword, or shooting them with a sharp arrow.

1 Samuel 20:22 (NLT)

But if I tell him, ‘Go farther—the arrows are still ahead of you,’ then it will mean that you must leave immediately, for the lord is sending you away.

Psalms 64:3 (NLT)

They sharpen their tongues like swords and aim their bitter words like arrows.

Jeremiah 9:8 (NLT)

For their tongues shoot lies like poisoned arrows. They speak friendly words to their neighbors while scheming in their heart to kill them.

Psalms 91:5 (NLT)

Psalms 91 5Do not be afraid of the terrors of the night, nor the arrow that flies in the day.

In the days of old, armies usually had archers who were used as an advanced attack of any army. They were able to take down forces who were some distance away. This kind of attack is done from a distance.

Psalms 91 and Proverbs 25, gives a more specific meaning. They both refer to the act of telling lies. One can take down a person and ruin their reputation by simply speaking things about them which are not true. In Proverbs 25:18 (NLT) it says that “Telling lies about others is as harmful as hitting them with an ax, wounding them with a sword, or shooting them with a sharp arrow.”

Whereas Psalms 91:5 (NLT) identifies the time of day when this kind of attack is more prevalent. “Do not be afraid of the terrors of the night, nor the arrow that flies in the day.”

In the day time, your adversary can see your location clearly, but you might not be able to see them. Because of their choice of weapon, they are able to stay from great distance, in the shadows or hidden places and launch an attack on you. It is important to note that usually when you see an archer, he has many arrows in his bag. Therefore, he can develop a strategy to shot them to wound you, to kill you or both at the same time.

Interpretation

psalms 11My dream indicates a situation which is made doubly dangerous by darkness. Not only are my adversaries hidden and in the shadows, but they choose to attack at night. This means that I am unable to see them and many of those who do the attack are not familiar to me.

The Holy Spirit also pointed out the significance of them being on higher ground. He said that some of these people are in high positions; whether in the workplace or in society.

They are also aware of my location at all times. Knowing someone’s address is always advantageous because you can choose to attack when and where they are most vulnerable. Even though the location of the attack in my dream was my home, in the physical that can be anywhere that I spend a significant time of my day; like the workplace.

In the dream, you will recall that I was exposed. This means that some of those lies did cause harm to my reputation. (I can confirm this, especially in the last 3 yrs.)

My dream carries many meanings. The Holy Spirit will give me the breakdown and application for each situation, present and future) that it applies to.

Psalms 11

The fact that God brought this scripture to mind, means that it is God’s answer to my situation. From verse 1 to verse 7, every word is filled with truth. I take specific comfort in verse 6, because this tells me the outcome.

1 I trust in the Lord for protection. So why do you say to me,
“Fly like a bird to the mountains for safety!
2 The wicked are stringing their bows and fitting their arrows on the bowstrings.
They shoot from the shadows at those whose hearts are right.
3 The foundations of law and order have collapsed. What can the righteous do?”
4 But the lord is in his holy Temple; the lord still rules from heaven.
He watches everyone closely, examining every person on earth.
5 The Lord examines both the righteous and the wicked. He hates those who love violence.
6 He will rain down blazing coals and burning sulfur on the wicked, punishing them with scorching winds.
7 For the righteous Lord loves justice. The virtuous will see his face.”

I want to encourage every child of God, saint or Christian that is facing a similar situation. When you are attacked with lies, believe in the promises of God from Psalms 11. Your belief and faith in His word is an act of ensuring that you stay under the shadow of the Almighty.

Copyright © 2015, Denise N. Fyffe

Please leave a response about what you think about the post or how it has affected you. Thanks in advance.

