Handling Hurt In Your Christian Life

The Life of a 21st Century Prophet
Standard
The Good Shepherd 133

The Good Shepherd 133 (Photo credit: Waiting For The Word)

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3 he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. 6 Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever…..

 

My walk with God now is different from 20 years ago. Today, I must consider myself battle weary because, I have fought the good fight and I am still on duty. Sometimes the idea of warring against hell and its minions is overwhelming; but when I remember ‘the battle is not yours, it’s the Lord’s‘ from Yolanda Adams, I am encouraged.

I took detours because those who were put to guide and help me along the way, turned their backs and became distracted themselves.

For years, I never went to the ‘dinning hall’ – The Church – to feast. I was discouraged, angry, bitter, depressed, impatient and honestly, unforgiving. But, God never left me, nor did He forsake me.

God was patient.

God was enduring.

God was a Father, friend, counselor, protector and still Sovereign Lord. The Lord God Almighty never deserts those who are backslidden, unless you shun Him, reject Him, blaspheme Him. Unless you totally give up your Christian Life.

Over the years, He worked on my heart. He worked on my anger. He worked on breaking my spirit, so that my only choice was to turn to Him and embrace Him. He taught me that people – Christians – are human beings first. They are flesh and have weaknesses; just like ordinary unsaved people. Therefore, they too will make mistakes, hurt people, be a disappointment and fall by the way side. But, so long as we do as Donnie McClurkin says, ‘..and get back up again…because we fall down, but we get up’ in our Christian Life.

Now, while I am still battling for my life, my mind, my spirit, my very soul; I am stronger, surer and trying my best to stay on the straight and narrow. Now, I am quick to forgive, quick to understand, quick to open my mouth to God and I am quick to identify my own weaknesses in my Christian Life. I am more mature, wiser and have more humility.

Remember, without God, as Christians we cannot survive. The devil seeks to devour us, prowling and looking for whom he may kill. So, church is important for fellowship and sustenance and I have learnt that God will move you to the best place or feast hall for you, in that time. So, if you lose heart in one church, ask of God how he can help you with handling changes in your Christian Life. The Bible says, ‘seek ye first the kingdom of God’, so seek God and His wisdom first, and he will guide you.

Copyright © 2016, Denise N. Fyffe

One thought on “Handling Hurt In Your Christian Life

  1. I can relate to nearly everything you shared here. Bless you young lady. We all stumble and fall or get knocked down by satan, but the key, as you know, is to get up and not stay down. Thank you for your testimony.

    Like

Please leave a response about what you think about the post or how it has affected you. Thanks in advance.

